I Remember My First Tweet

23 Apr

I have been on Twitter for over a year and I never really got hooked until I started using my account professionally. I’m not a big “I have to tweet about every moment all day long” kind of person. I don’t like that people use that method but it’s just not my style. I used Twitter about once a week or I would get on and tweet about 25 times in a single day. I was very inconsistent. My personal Twitter was a #fail in the making.

Image

After I started following other public relations professionals, I began reading my Twitter more and becoming more active. When I was finishing my resume I asked for advice. I was looking for grad schools and asked for advice. If you ask then you shall receive because the Twitter world was full of answers and advice. I think using Twitter professionally is an awesome way to create concise, creative and modern messages for the fast-paced environment.

Twitter can be a great tool for success if you want to network in 140 characters or less. It sounds scary but here are some of my tips on how to use your Twitter account as a personal and professional networking tool.

1.)  Watch what you tweet. Don’t tweet things you wouldn’t want your boss or your grandma to read. Once it’s out on the Internet, it’s there forever.

2.)  Follow potential employers. They might post job listings or company information that can help you during an interview.

3.)  Post links in your bio to more information about yourself like a blog, LinkedIn profile, or a YouTube channel.

4.)  Keep your relationship with your closest followers. Mention them every once in a while to keep in touch. You never know when they might have the right connections.

5.)  When you like an organization, let them know. You could get a RT or a mention that could brighten your day.

6.)  Make your tweets public. You can check your followers often or require your approval before they can follow you. If you’re following tip #1, then you’ll have nothing to worry about.

3 Responses to “I Remember My First Tweet”

  1. jafree89 April 23, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    Never thought to get resume advice on Twitter. Interesting how many ways it can be used.

  2. monicalaplant April 23, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    This is really good advice! Good insight on how to network using twitter.

  3. marysterenberg May 2, 2012 at 2:49 am #

    Love the #fail comment:) I’ve gotta go check out those articles you linked to now…

Leave a Reply

